Dr AvinashTank, is a super-specialist (MCh) Laparoscopic Gastro-intestinal Surgeon,

Five Days of Diwali Celebration 2023

  • Home
  • -
  • Festival
  • -
  • Five Days of Diwali Celebration 2023
Five Days of Diwali Celebration 2023
Spread the love

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Five Days of Diwali Celebration 2023. Diwali, also known as Deepavali, is one of the most significant and widely celebrated festivals in India. It’s a festival that exudes joy, unity, and a sense of renewal.

Diwali spans over five days, each day signifying a unique aspect of the grand celebration.

Let’s embark on a journey through the five days of Diwali and discover the customs, traditions, and historical significance of each day.

Day 1: Dhanteras & Dhanvantari Jayanti Honoring wealth and the divine physician

Diwali commences with Dhanteras, which falls on the thirteenth day of the dark fortnight (Krishna Paksha) in the Hindu month of Ashwin. ‘Dhan’ means wealth, and ‘Teras’ refers to the thirteenth day. People clean and decorate their homes and shops to welcome wealth and prosperity. On this day, Lord Dhanvantari, the divine physician, is also worshiped for good health. It’s customary to purchase new utensils and gold or silver jewelry on Dhanteras.

Day 2: Roop Chodas or Kali Chodas or Choti Diwali
Celebrating beauty and the victory of good over evil

The second day of Diwali is known by different names in various regions of India – Roop Chodas, Kali Chodas, or Choti Diwali. It is a day to revel in beauty, both inner and outer. People adorn themselves and their homes, light lamps, and seek blessings for a radiant life. It also marks the victory of Lord Krishna over the demon Narakasura, symbolizing the triumph of good over evil.

Day 3: Laxmi Poojan, Return of Lord Ram to Ayodhya
Worshiping the goddess of wealth and the homecoming of Lord Ram

The third day of Diwali, often referred to as the main Diwali day, is dedicated to the goddess of wealth, Laxmi. Homes are illuminated with lamps, and people offer prayers to invite Goddess Laxmi for blessings and prosperity. This day also commemorates the return of Lord Ram, Sita, and Lakshman to Ayodhya after defeating the demon king Ravana. The grand celebrations include elaborate rangoli designs, sweets, and fireworks.

Day 4: Goverdhan Poojan
Honoring Lord Krishna and his act of lifting the Govardhan Hill

Goverdhan Poojan, celebrated predominantly in North India, focuses on the legend of Lord Krishna lifting the Govardhan Hill to protect the residents of Vrindavan from torrential rain sent by Lord Indra. Devotees create a small hillock with cow dung and worship it. It’s a day of gratitude to nature and Lord Krishna’s benevolence.

Day 5: Bhaiya Dooj & Gujarati New Year Celebrating sibling love and the New Year

Diwali culminates with Bhaiya Dooj, a day that honors the bond between brothers and sisters. Sisters apply tikka on their brothers’ foreheads and pray for their well-being. It’s a celebration of sibling love and protection.

Additionally, for Gujaratis, this day marks the beginning of the New Year. It’s a time for new beginnings, fresh goals, and renewed enthusiasm.


Embracing the joy and unity of Diwali

The five days of Diwali celebration are a testament to India’s diverse cultural and religious heritage. This festival transcends boundaries and brings people together in a spirit of unity, hope, and renewal. The customs and rituals associated with each day add layers of meaning to the festival, making Diwali a truly remarkable celebration of light and life.

As we embark on this festive journey, let us immerse ourselves in the beauty, traditions, and the shared joy of Diwali.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »
error: Content is protected !!

Book An Appointment

Consult Online